Press Releases

U.S. House Approves Herrera Beutler-Supported Legislation to Award Congressional Gold Medals to Fallen Servicemembers

13 U.S. Servicemembers killed in Afghanistan to be posthumously awarded Congressional Gold Medals

Today, the U.S. House of Representatives passed legislation Congresswoman Jaime Herrera Beutler (WA-03) helped introduce in August to posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to the 13 U.S. Servicemembers who were killed in Afghanistan.

The legislation will award the Congressional Gold Medal to Staff Sgt. Darin Taylor Hoover, Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, Sgt. Nicole Gee, Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Cpl. Daegan Page, Cpl. Humberto Sanchez, Cpl. David Lee Espinoza, Lance Cpl. Jared Schmitz, Lance Cpl. Rylee McCollum, Lance Cpl. Dylan Merola, Lance Cpl. Kareem Nikoui, Hospitalman Maxton Soviak and Staff Sgt. Ryan Knauss.

“The very least our nation can do to pay tribute to the 13 U.S. servicemembers who were tragically killed in Afghanistan in August – as well as the 13 new Gold Star Families – is to award them with the Congressional Gold Medal. May we never forget their great valor and sacrifice to our nation. And to the men and women of our U.S. military who continue to defend our country – we are grateful for your service,” Herrera Beutler said.