Press Releases

Herrera Beutler Helps Introduce Bill to Award Congressional Gold Medals to Fallen Servicemembers

Congresswoman Jaime Herrera Beutler (WA-03) today, alongside 158 cosponsors in the U.S. House, introduced legislation to posthumously award the Congressional Gold Medal to the 13 U.S. military servicemembers who were killed in Afghanistan last week.

The legislation will award the Congressional Gold Medal to Staff Sgt. Darin Taylor Hoover, Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, Sgt. Nicole Gee, Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Cpl. Daegan Page, Cpl. Humberto Sanchez, Cpl. David Lee Espinoza, Lance Cpl. Jared Schmitz, Lance Cpl. Rylee McCollum, Lance Cpl. Dylan Merola, Lance Cpl. Kareem Nikoui, Hospitalman Maxton Soviak and Staff Sgt. Ryan Knauss.

“13 brave U.S. servicemembers were tragically lost last week as they carried out their duties helping U.S. citizens and Afghan allies evacuate from Kabul, Afghanistan,” Herrera Beutler said. “My heart breaks for the 13 new Gold Star Families and the loved ones of these fallen soldiers. Awarding the Congressional Gold Medal to each of these men and women is the least we can do to pay tribute to their service and sacrifice to our country. May God bless our men and women in uniform who continue to serve and defend our nation.”